• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

Im 18 and being sued for over 30k for car accident

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

T

TODD JAY

What is the name of your state? Pennsylvania

Im 18 and being sued for over 30k for an accident that hapened when I was 16....after the accident they settled for 7k and now that im 18 im being sued for 30k for injuries suffered . I have no assets . I own no property. Im a High school student the only income I have is social security. Can some one give me information on why...they have all of a sudden filed a suit against me...is the insurance compnay that i had a policy with obligated to represent me?..even though they had cancelled my insurance and now I am under a new policy?Is there a possibilty that the case will be turned away when they found out my finacial history and I am not able to pay these damages some one please help this is very stressful...
thanx

Z

zappy

well this is a good lesson for you to learn, stuff you will NEVER learn in high school OR college.

That keeping the paperwork on lawsuits, accidents, warrentes, repairs, bill of salesrecipts for big ticket items, credit card bills,, Apartment Leases, checkbooks, for a couple of years and never losing them will help you solve this problem....heck you could fit all of it in one small box.

Such as what did they exactly settle for $7K? and was it a final settlement? did it include a waiver from all claims? this is all in the paperwork.

You need to contact the old insurance company and represent you since thay have your files.