• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

I'm being sued; first post

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

Magnum V8

This is my first post. I just found this website.

At the time of this accident, I worked for a trucking company. I was in their vehicle on my work route.

Two years ago, I rear ended someone because that person cut in front of me and slammed on her breaks, on the freeway, going 60 mph.

The police cited that person, not me.

On 1/11/06, my attorney filed suit against that person. Today, 2/10/06, I received notice that she's suing me and the company I worked for at the time. The woman's attorney states I was an unsafe or unlicensed driver, and my company should have known that. Therefore, the company is "vicariously liable."

What are this woman's chances of winning the lawsuit? And if she does win, who will ultimately be responsible, me or the company? What are my chances of winning my suit against her?

I imagine her attack will be that I had 2 or 3 moving violation in 4 years and that proves I was unsafe. Is that a legitimate argument? Does the police officer's report NOT mean anything?

Please give me some advice. This is in Ohio. If you need any more information, let me know.

Thanks,

John

Litigation!

Magnum V8 said:

At the time of this accident, I worked for a trucking company. I was in their vehicle on my work route.

Two years ago, I rear ended someone because that person cut in front of me and slammed on her breaks, on the freeway, going 60 mph.