• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

Improper Backing; Will My Rates Go Up?

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

Thad

What is the name of your state?
Wisconsin

Hello everyone, this is my first time visiting this site, but I'm in a spot of trouble and need some Advice.

The other day I was driving my fathers truck home from work. I pulled down a very narrow bi-directional street and there was another truck with a very large trailer pulled out completely across the street. My fathers truck is very big and it's also a Manual. I'm Seventeen and as you can imagine, I was hesitant to try and turn around, so I waited. About two minutes passed and the truck had not moved, I wasn't even sure if anyone was in the vehicle. I then pulled into someones driveway, threw it in reverse, and got out of there.

On my way home, I stopped at a Hardware store to pick something up. This particular store was about five blocks away and on my way back to the truck, a young man on a Bicycle confronted me. The Dialog went something like this...

Kid: "Yo dude, we're you driving on Busse Street about five minutes ago?"
Me: "Uhh, yeah?"
Kid: "You hit a car."
Me: "*%&$."

I voluntarily let him take my license plate number and told him I'd return to the scene of incident. I drove back over there and to my dismay, there was a squad car parked with a Female officer working her notepad over. I parked the truck, and prepared myself for the trouble ahead. These people were preparing to get me for Hit and Run, but when I came back so shortly she decided that wouldn't be necessary.