• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

Is my 10yr old responsible?

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

S

SnSMich

My 10 year old son was playing soccer before school, on public school grounds. The kids were playing rough according to the school officals and my son pushed another boy down. The boy broke his arm. The parrent is asking his mother and I to pay for the un-insured part of the medical bills.
I would like to offer to pay for the added cost but I don't know if I should because of posible future legal actions. Would this be like admitting responsibility? Could I be sued for pain and suffering too?

L

lawrat

I am a law school graduate. WHat I offer is mere information, not to be construed as forming an attorney client relationship.

You can't sue for pain and suffering.

As to the medical bills, does your boy have a history of being violent? So much so, you need to let others know? If not, you are not responsible, your boy is. And guess what, does your boy have a job? Very hard to collect.

Settling sometimes means admitting liability -- depending on how shrewd their lawyer is. The fact you pay doesn't, but stuff you say in conjunction with offering to pay does.

HomeGuru

<BLOCKQUOTE><font size="1" face=" Arial, Verdana, Helvetica">quote:</font><HR>Originally posted by SnSMich:
My 10 year old son was playing soccer before school, on public school grounds. The kids were playing rough according to the school officals and my son pushed another boy down. The boy broke his arm. The parrent is asking his mother and I to pay for the un-insured part of the medical bills.