• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

Need Help With My Claim

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

asseenonharbor

What is the name of your state? CA

So this is what happened. My car was parked outside of an apartment complex. At 3AM, my car - along with 2 other cars - were hit. I've talked to the other party's insurance (the one at fault) and they told me that his coverage is limited and may not be able to cover for all the damages because their are 2 other cars involved. My car was estimated at $5400 of damages. I'm a student and don't have $1000 to pay for my deductible towards my insurance company. Even if the other person has limited coverage shouldn't they have to cover for all my damages regardless... Why should I be at a disadvantage and have my insurance rates increase as well.

Also, can I still cancel my claim with my own insurance company? I'm afraid that they got the ball rolling with my auto body and the thing is that I don't want to pay for the deductible.
What should I do? What is the best route to go?
Need help.... my first claim and I'm having a nightmare. Thanks.

Last edited:

ecmst12

If you don't have underinsured motorist coverage, and the other party has state minimum coverage ($5k), your only recourse will be to sue the driver in small claims court and hope he has assets to pay you. His insurance company will probably want you to sign a release before paying you anything - if you do this, you will not be able to sue. So weigh your options.

jballidis

You can collect