• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

no fault accident

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

M

meaningfullyshy

Hi,
My son borrowed his girlfriend's, mother's car and rear ended a mini van. The police did not give a ticket to anyone and said it was a no-fault accident, but had my son andthe other driver exchange insurance info. Since it was a no-fault accident shouldn't each person's insurance co. be liable for their own client's vehicle and/or injuries? My son's g-friend's, mother is afraid of her insurance going sky high or that she will be sued.
Thanks so much,
Shy

L

lawrat

I am a law school graduate. What I offer is mere information, not to be construed as forming an attorney client relationship.

WHAT IS THE DIFFERENCE BETWEEN "NO-FAULT" AND "AT-FAULT" ?
Often, the laws of the state in which the accident occurs determines who pays for the damages incurred in an accident. About half of the states in the US have adopted so-called "no-fault" liability laws. Under a no-fault system of law, it does not matter who was "at-fault" or "caused" the accident. No-fault states adopt the approach that everyone is to "make themselves whole" after incurring damages as a result of an auto accident. By making everyone responsible for his or her own loss, states hope that the number of lawsuits will be reduced, since liability does not have to be determined.