• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

no insurance

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

M

mrjules01

new york- I drive for a living and recently found out I have been driving without insuance and with a suspended licsense. My insurance company never told me that my payments go to a finance company and when the insurance company told me I was supposed to remit payment directly to them I did. Months have passed and I never received a cancellation notice. When the finance company did not receive payment the cancelled my insurance. Now, motor vehiclles says that i have to wait 174 days before I can get my licsense back and I have since lost wages and had to pay a fortune for cabs to get around. My insurance broker says that I followed directions to a "T" and I am just going to be screwed. DMV says I cannot even sell my car or have someone else register it. I feel that there has to be something that can be done to set this right. I need help!!

JETX

Something doesn't sound right here....

Q1) How and why did your license get suspended?? (Suspension doesn't just 'happen' due to no insurance.. without some process and notification.)
Q2) Who got the money that you claim you were paying??
Q3) Since you claim that you were making payments directly to the insurance company, why would they cancel your policy??
Q4) What does your lender agreement say about making payments?
Q5) What response did you get from the insurance company when you asked them about the cancellation in WRITING??
Q6) What response did you get from the 'lender' when you asked them about the cancellation in WRITING??

M

mrjules01