• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

Pleae Respond I Need You Help

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

J

josh684

I was coming out of my school parking lot thta is not paved it is on rocks, When i was coming out, I may have hit the gas a little hard and rocks hit a kids truck, He wants me to pay for the dammages($994). I want the school to pay cause The parking lot is ****. I live in florida. I have a meeting with the school Tommorrow Morning. Do you know any fact i could present to them to make them pay for this. the parking lot is an old building that was torn down and they charge us to park there.

Thanks In Advanced

L

lawrat

I am a law school graduate. What I offer is mere information, not to be construed as forming an attorney client relationship.

Okay, I don't know if you go to a public or private school.

But this is my take. You pay to park -- that money should be used at least partly for pavement improvment. Rocks compromise the safety of tires (holes, etc) and of course, pose the risk of flying objects.

This was an accident, yes. However, your neligence did not cause it. You merely put your car in gear and shifted, revved to be able to move the car. You are not responsible to move every pebble out of the way every time you drive in and out.

The burden on each driver is too much. The proper entity to handle this situation on behalf of all students is the school.

Otherwise, they will consistently lose revenue for each person who doesn't want to park there, for fear having to pay out car repair bills.

J

josh684