• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

Rear End Collision. I feel like I am being punished for being rear ended

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

tinob

Hello, I am from Virginia and I just got into a rear end accident today where another car hit me. I have been driving for 8 years without an accident and the other driver has been driving for only 2 years.

This is what happened, while going home from work on the highway I-95, due to holidays it was bumper to bumper. I was in the right lane when all of a sudden I hear a BUMP!! hard hit from behind. I was zoned out for a few and finally noticed what happened.

the end result, the guy lied and said that I was trying to get on the highway from the exit when all along I have been driving on the far right lane from 10 miles back. The cop gave me and him both tickets and told us to appear for court (since there were no wittnesses).

Now I just called his and mine insurance and gave them info and they will get back to me. I am worried that I will get screwed here by insurance and by court because there were no witnesses. Is it possible for the insurances to do some logical or some other test to see who was at fault? I am really nervous and actually in minor pain right now (going to doctors tomorrow). This stress is killing me on top of it, please help :(:(

teflon_jones

Do you have any proof to show where you were coming from/going to? I.E. was it your normal work commute? This can help show that the other driver was lying.

tinob

hello