• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

Rear-End Collision, Police Failed To Get Statement

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

Status
Not open for further replies.

CdwJava

This is very true. I've been investigating accidents for over 20 years and I have probably seen less than 15 accurate and well-documented police reports among the thousands I've reviewed.
Maybe you have not been asked to review the good ones. If you are a hired gun, then you are likely brought in when an attorney identifies a problem in the report, and when the matter is serious (or costly). Yes, many are not complete, and many may not be done well. But, they do not have to be.

In case you do not understand it, traffic collisions are largely a civil matter and not criminal. It is already an odd thing to see the police conducting investigations for matters that are, essentially, civil matters.

Even when they think they are doing a super job, they aren't. They just don't have the proper training or experience to handle even simple crash investigations or reconstructions.
You are right. Most officers are trained only in the very basic elements of traffic collision investigation. That training generally involves simply gathering information and taking some often cursory measurements. They are neither required nor expected to conduct an in depth investigation. Unless the collision is a very serious injury or a fatal collision, the truly well-trained officers are not going to be called out to spend the many hours it might take to do it right.

They have no duty to investigate anything, and they have no duty to investigate anything correctly. And they are ALWAYS looking for somebody to charge with a crime.