• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

Settling a claim

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

N

Naboo

I am a student in SC and about a month and a half ago I was a passenger in a car that was wrecked. I was injured and was disgnosed with lumabgo. I was treated my my personal doctor and he sent me to a physical therpist,
now I feel better and I am ready to settle the claim I know that I am entitled to my doctor's bills but how should my pain & suffering be calculated? I don't want to take advantage, but I also don't want to be ran over, I just want the settlement to be fair. Could someone offer advice?
Thank you very Much.

L

lawrat

I am a law school graduate. What I offer is mere information, not to be construed as forming an attorney client relationship.

Well, keep a daily journal of all the pain and suffering you have had. Have witnesses to this give very very detailed notarized affadavits.

As to amount, it varies with types of injuries and length of pain, state it happened.

Try at least speaking with an attorney who offers free consultations. Try attorneypages.com or call your state bar associaition. Otherwise, march on down to a law school near you, go to their law library and ask a law librarian to help you run a search for cases and settlements involving your type of injury.

Hope this helps.

C

cdcard

Dear naboo: