• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

Is there a limit to insurance payout?

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

Notatfault79

Im located in Massachusetts.

Hi everyone

Let me first say I appreciate any advice given. Im really confused.

I was in an accident 6 months or so ago. I was rear ended so hard I was left unconscience. My neck was badly damaged. I have been doing chiropractor ever since and im currently forced to take painkillers every day ( which I despise).

I suffer from migraines nearly every day. (I used to get one or two headaches a year before this accident). My memory is not like it used to be AT ALL. ( i used to be an accountant, now I can barely focus on anything. Ever since the accident, i get "floaties" that nearly cover both eyes. My neck, if I move it in a certain way, feels like the first day of the accident

My life has been really turned upside down.

My lawyer recently told me that they had an offer to settle from insurance company of 20k my health bills are 8k, I would owe the lawyer 5k which would leave me 7k to pay for what looks like is going to be a lifetime injury, im in my early 30's, i have atleast 35 years to work and survive.

Where I messed up, I made a mistake on my insurance at the time and I had no insurance when the car rear-ended me. Trust me this was not a case of me not wanting to pay the 50 dollars a month. It was an honest mistake which the judge agreed with.

My lawyer is telling me that due to this fact I could never get a penny more than 20k ( policy limit) even if I broke both my legs and permanently was unable to walk.