• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

Underinsured Motorist

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

goblin24

What is the name of your state? New Jersey

In 2002 in Saint Louis, I got a DWI / 2nd degree assault charge against me. My friend was injured in an accident, but did not press charges but the state picked up the charges against me. I made it through probation and never got convicted.

My insurance company paid out the max to him in the accident ($25k) but he required a little more for the damages, and he pusued his insurance company for underinsured motorist and was awarded a certain amount.

Can his insuarnce company come back after me for the payout for underinsured motorist coverage?
What is the statute of limitations for this and property damage since it happened in 2002?

Thanks

seniorjudge

Q: Can his insuarnce company come back after me for the payout for underinsured motorist coverage?

A: Yes.

Q: What is the statute of limitations for this and property damage since it happened in 2002?

A: GENERALLY, it is five years. But there is not enough information in your post to tell when the statute started running. And, besides, if you are not in Missouri, then the statute does not run (it only runs when you are in the jurisdiction).

goblin24

I just moved to NJ, so it is possible that this has passed already. When does the statute start running, when the settlement is reached? Do insurance companies usually wait till the last minute to follow up on something like this? Do they usually pursue this kind of case, I think it was $25k that he got from underinsured mototrist

seniorjudge