• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

uninsured at fault accident

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

N

neelam

What is the name of your state? What is the name of your state? MI

I am an international student and am not sure about accident claims and all. i recently had an accident where i missed a stop sign. i hit another car which was ruined completely. my car was gone as well. the other car appeared to be new, and it was a 4 wheel drive. i was injured, but the other person wasn't, luckily.
The main thing is that i had no insurance. my insurance expired in sept and i had the accident in the 1st week of December.
so far i only received medical bills n towing bills.
>can anyone tell me what i should expect.
>i am scared that they might take my brother's car, as i was driving his other car. Can they ?
>and also scared abt the costs i might have to pay or get sued. can they access my bank account.?
> should i contact the other driver and negotiate or wait until the insurance company goes after me?
>what are the chances of suing- and what happens if i can't afford to pay for the damages to the other driver's car?
i have 4 main questions. really appreciate the answers as well as addition information.

JETX

"can anyone tell me what i should expect."
*** Yes. You are very likely going to get an extensive education in civil law (when you get sued) and possibly criminal law (when the police find out you were driving without required insurance).

"i am scared that they might take my brother's car, as i was driving his other car. Can they ?"
*** No. But the state may revoke his registration for allowing a non-insured driver.