• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

Inproper bank debit caused NSF fees

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

viscious

Hello I am a resident of Denver Colorado.

My electric company is Xcel Energy.

I normally pay my electric bill over the phone using an electronic check for an account I have with compass bank. (they ask for the account number and routing number to process the payment).

On May 9th, I had an electric bill of 478.86 that I needed to pay. I knew that my compass checking account did not have enough funds to cover that cost. So I gave them the checking account number and routing number of a checking account that I keep for emergency purposes.

When the lady on the phone tried to run the charge through she said "Oops I made a mistake, please hold on one minute".

After a minute or so, she came back on the line and said everything was fine. I said ok and hung up.

I noticed a week later that when Xcel charged my account they charged the wrong account. Instead of charging my emergency account, they charged my compass account. Because of this my compass account overdrafted for that charge, as well as for seven charges afterwards, and I have $304 dollars in overdraft fees.

I called xcel energy as soon as I realised what happened. They said they were sorry for the inconvience and that they would reverse the 478 dollar charge, and then re charge the correct account.

I then went to compass bank and explained the situation to them , and I asked them if they would refund the NSF fees once xcel reversed the original charge that caused them. Compass bank said, that it was Xcels fault and that excel should refund my NSF charges.