• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

My Mother took out student loans in my name and spent all the money.

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

milodius

What is the name of your state (only U.S. law)? Alabama

I am a college student. 25 years old. 3 years ago, my Mother talked me into getting a private student loan. I allowed her to handle getting the loan. She then took out more loans than I had even signed for, and even a credit card that I didn't even know existed until I saw my credit report a month ago. I ended up getting about $10,000 out of about $100,000 worth of loans. She ended up spending all the rest of the money on drugs and ended up in a psychiatric hospital, beaten and diagnosed as psychotic. Is there any legal recourse for me to avoid this debt? what do I do? I never expected this to happen, I mean my own mother... it feels like getting hit by a truck..

Isis1

What is the name of your state (only U.S. law)? Alabama

I am a college student. 25 years old. 3 years ago, my Mother talked me into getting a private student loan. I allowed her to handle getting the loan. She then took out more loans than I had even signed for, and even a credit card that I didn't even know existed until I saw my credit report a month ago. I ended up getting about $10,000 out of about $100,000 worth of loans. She ended up spending all the rest of the money on drugs and ended up in a psychiatric hospital, beaten and diagnosed as psychotic. Is there any legal recourse for me to avoid this debt? what do I do? I never expected this to happen, I mean my own mother... it feels like getting hit by a truck..