• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

Student Loan Co-Signer Attempting to Claim Fraud

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

troutfart

New York State

Hello All,

This is my first post on this site, and am looking for some legal advice regarding a quite screwy situation I have just found myself in.

A some background information, I was a student at the Rochester Institute of Technology for ~6 years, and did not graduate. Throughout my time there I had taken out many student loans to pay for tuition. Each year I would take out both Federal and Private loans. Due to my lack of any / poor credit, every loan I applied for required a Co-Signer. My father offered and agreed to co-signed every loan application that I needed, in order to fund my education. This was for a number of loans, I'd say at least 6 (possibly more) throughout my entire time at RIT, totaling in tens of thousands of dollars.

Fast forward to today, and it's been a year since I've been a fully matriculated student. I haven't made a single payment on any of my loans, and am unemployed. To be honest I haven't even spoken with any of the lender reps that call constantly. I also have received plenty of letters, most of which are just being piled up on my dresser.

On top of these extreme financial problems that I am having, today I learned something that simply blew my mind.

My Father (the Co-Signer of ALL of my student loans) hands me a letter that was addressed to him from Citi and tells me to read it. The first line states " You recently conveyed your concern that a possible forgery may have taken place on an account with Citibank."