• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

Abandoned Order

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

Zobmie

What is the name of your state (only U.S. law)?
Washington State.

I'm a commission painter and I'm setting up my Terms of Service and I'd love some help with the legality of an abandoned order.

Situation:
Customer sends me the project they want painted, along with the deposit I require. Time goes by, I finish the work, and try to contact the client, who doesn't reply. What are my rights as to what I can do with their project? Can I keep it? Can I sell it? After how much time?

Any advice would be appreciated.

quincy

What is the name of your state (only U.S. law)?
Washington State.

I'm a commission painter and I'm setting up my Terms of Service and I'd love some help with the legality of an abandoned order.

Situation:
Customer sends me the project they want painted, along with the deposit I require. Time goes by, I finish the work, and try to contact the client, who doesn't reply. What are my rights as to what I can do with their project? Can I keep it? Can I sell it? After how much time?

Any advice would be appreciated.
Those are all questions the answers of which should be addressed in your terms of service and client contracts.