• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

Breach of Contract question

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

NY
Hi,
Please note that I am a young student that is being taken advantage of by a rather large corporation in New York, NY any help would be greatly appreciated. I spent all my life savings on this and now I pretty much have nothing.
I'm in the process of taking over a vending business from a gentlemen that's retiring. Our contract was tied in to us getting a contract from the location that will allow us to have the machines there. All previous contracts were 3 years and 20% commission. The location decided they wanted close to 15k in new vending machines. This is a copy of the email they sent us when we won the new contract.
"Congratulations, you won the contract. Thank you for showing me the different models, giving me the dimensions, and answering my questions so promptly.

Let's do this:
1. Keep the two machines on the 5th floor - no change.
2. Removed the two machines on the 6th floor ASAP.
3. Wheel in and install
a. the bubble soda machine
b. the green coffee machine
c. the Wurlitzer 800 snack machine."

So I went ahead and purchased the new machines. Now the location is stating they want:
" Upon completion of renovations to the 5th floor, Operator shall remove two machines currently located on the 5th floor.
2. Operator and Customer will work together to determine replacement machines appropriate to the look and layout of the renovated lounge on the 5th floor. Replacement machines will be either:
a) One smaller unit
b) Two smaller units or
c) One larger unit.
Final decision must be agreed to by both Operator and Customer"