• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

Client changed date after contract signed

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

chrish16

Hi, first post here. I'm a photographer, I had a wedding booked in for September, the client phoned and said the wedding now December. Problem is, the date in question I am not available, which I told them I didn't think I was available but would check. I phoned back and said I am already booked up for the new December date but would go to the other client and see if their date is flexible, it isn't so I can't do the clients wedding in December. My contract states the deposit is non refundable, so I'm guessing as I'm not cancelling it, they don't get their deposit back? Also, the client is not answering my calls or voicemail. Should I send an official letter stating the contract is now void as they have changed the date, and I can't set up a new contract as I'm not available that day? Regards

justalayman

The contract is voided only if you or the client officially cancels the booking. Is there a clause in your contract that all requests for changes must be sent in writing ( if not you would be wise to add it in your future contracts)? Discussions about changes can lead to misunderstandings. Sometimes people believe the contract was changed when it wasn't based in a discussion.