• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

Contract-Sole trader-limited company-Liability

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

justNotcricket

What is the name of your state (only U.S. law)? -

Hi all

Hypothetical:
I am a sole trader. I enter into a contract with a business.
I then set up a limited liability company.
1.Can I simply pass the contract onto the new business?
2.Do I need a new contract?

I have no known liabilities.
In the future, it comes to light, that a liability was incurred during the sole trader period.
3. Can I be sued or will it be my new company?
e.g I infringed on patent/copyright
e.g I ran my coffee shop as a sole trader before I incorporated. Someone comes back, from years ago, saying that my coffee made them hallucinate and they walked into a brick wall, breaking their nose.

Does it revolve around the word 'known'.
i.e you cannot incur massive debts as a sole trader, set up a limited company and then declare the company bankrupt, while you walk away without owing anything.
If it were company to company, would it boil down to due diligence on part of purchasing company unless fraud?

quincy

Hi all

Hypothetical:
I am a sole trader. I enter into a contract with a business.
I then set up a limited liability company.
1.Can I simply pass the contract onto the new business?
2.Do I need a new contract?

I have no known liabilities.
In the future, it comes to light, that a liability was incurred during the sole trader period.
3. Can I be sued or will it be my new company?
e.g I infringed on patent/copyright