• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

Independent Contractor Not Paid

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

patty16

What is the name of your state (only U.S. law)? Georgia

I work as an independent contractor for a well known national business. They have had financial issues in the past but now they are at an all time low. They currently owe me about $4,000 from late invoices. They made false promises and continue to ignore all forms of communication. I have been patient but they are still conducting business and refuse to even talk about paying.

Is this a small claims court claim? Is there a minimum amount of time I have to wait to take them to court? I have e-mails showing they received the invoices, e-mails with mentioning of when checks are sent out from invoices, etc. I don't even trust them to write me a check as in the past I have had two checks bounce from them.

What can I do to handle this professionally and quickly?

quincy

What is the name of your state (only U.S. law)? Georgia

I work as an independent contractor for a well known national business. They have had financial issues in the past but now they are at an all time low. They currently owe me about $4,000 from late invoices. They made false promises and continue to ignore all forms of communication. I have been patient but they are still conducting business and refuse to even talk about paying.