• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

Jackson Hewitt Messed Up on My Return

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

shangrilaomaha

What is the name of your state (only U.S. law)? Nebraska.
My fiance and I went to Jackson Hewitt in January 2016 to file our tax returns. After careful review, the tax preparer advised us to file married joint and this would be the best way to maximize our return. So we filed as married. I am a full time student at UNO and while the school was processing my financial aid for the 2016 year, they discovered the mistake and advised me to fill out a 1040X amended return with me as head of household like I had done the previous years. So today I took off work and gathered my return that I already received in which i already spent the $8000 tax return that I had and already been funded, and went to the Jackson Hewitt headquarters off 72nd and Pine to meet with the district manager. After they redid the taxes they say now that I owe the IRS $2800. They admitted the mistake and said they fired the CPA rep that made the mistake, but I would have to pay $2800 back to the IRS after the amend. I advised them this is their mistake and they are responsible to pay anything extra as a result of their mistake. Their motto is 'We will pay 100 of all costs' associated with mistakes on your return if it is a result of their own negligence. So after I told them I wasn't signing anything and I wanted to seek legal council, they kicked us out of the store and locked the front door because we mentioned the word 'Lawyer'. Now I am risking losing all financial aid from my school because I am unable to provide a 1040X amended return. This clearly was their mistake as they