• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

Legal recourse for a client that won't pay?

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

Designr

I am a freelance designer and I took on a "marketing consultant" as a client, whose compensation practices I found out later were very unethical and shady. I ended up only charging him less than 10% of what I might normally charge a client. Given how he operates, and the fact that he hasn't responded to my emails regarding the overdue invoice, I am pretty sure that he doesn't plan on paying.

Financially speaking, I realize this isn't worth it for me to pursue, because the final invoice ended up being only $50 for 8 hours of work (a story in and of itself). Although financially not worth it, it's the principle of the matter. My sense is that this person makes money off of scamming unsuspecting freelance designers by either not paying them, or deceiving them to work at well below minimum wage, while they receive over $150/hour for the work that the designers do. Unfortunately I don't believe I can prove this. I would like to put a stop to it, or at least make him think twice before doing it again to another designer.

There was a signed contract. The client received all the deliverables they requested, and then some. And so far I've sent an overdue notice, with no response from the client. My goal isn't simply to collect my invoice from the client, but ideally I would like to stop their unethical practices so that other designers don't get burned. What are my options?

What is the name of your state (only U.S. law)? PA

Zigner

Senior Member, Non-Attorney