• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

Need help with threatneing client

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

web_business

What is the name of your state (only U.S. law)? CA

Hello, I'm hoping someone can offer some advise about a sticky business/client problem. I am a web developer and I had been working with a particular client for some three years. I ended the working relationship recently and advised the client to find another developer that is better suited to do the work. His last email to me was, in summary, requesting all access codes to his sites and stating that if anything ever happens to his sites, he will sue me to the fullest extent of the law. He's implying that I would use the username and passwords that I had setup for myself to ruin his websites. I have no intentions of maliciously harming his websites, but things do happen to websites that are completely out of my control. The server could crash, he could develop corrupted database files, he could go over his bandwidth and have his site suspended temporarily, and any number of other things. He seems to be stating that if anything at all ever affects his site he will assume it's me wreaking havoc on this websites out of spite, and then sue me for whatever revenue he has lost, punitive damages, etc. I'm really freaked out about this. Is there anything I can do to release myself from responsibility for the future of his websites? Maybe like asking him to sign a release form stating that he will change all usernames and passwords and release me from any liability?

Thank you,
W

Hot Topic