• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

non compete

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

tastyirl

What is the name of your state (only U.S. law)? VIRGINIA

Hello,
I have been working as a screen printer for almost 10 years, pretty much since I finished high school. My current employer made me sign a non compete when I began employment two years ago which was a first. It says that I can not work for a competing business for one year after termination within 100 miles to protect confidential client information and trade secret.

I recently began constructing a business plan to further my career in screen printing, since as a printer I can barely make a living wage these days. Without relocation, I can not go through with my business plan unless I quit and find another job for a year, which feels like a bad idea because I don't have the experience to find a non competing job that makes above the minimum wage. This non compete makes it impossible to practice my trade without suffering the costs of relocating so I essentially feel trapped.

My question is, since my business model is based off of selling only on the internet, if I strictly market outside of my 100 mile radius, and even refuse to sell to customers within the radius, in the event of a suit would I stand a chance? My business plan is pretty solid, and I'm confident that I could succeed so I have been seriously considering ignoring the contract, especially since I have no intention to compete with my current employer for clients, and I have not learned any trade secrets from them since I came to the job with all the experience needed. In fact, I brought information to increased productivity in the work place.