• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

Non Compete Clause

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

Catfishtattoo

I am a tattoo artist, the owner I was trained under sold the business, so all my clientele and training has come from a different owner. The new owners wanted me to sign a one year non compete clause with them, I did. The year is up I put my two weeks in, they fired me. They then referred to said contract, stating I could not work in the area for a year after the contract expires, which I did not read in the contract whatsoever. It gets messy now, One of the main reasons I had to leave was one of the owners were going through my personal belongings, which now my contract is missing, either way, I agreed to a year, I stayed for a year, any advice?

eerelations

You're saying the owner stole your copy of the signed contract?

Be that as it may, though, why don't you try saying to the owner "I can't respond to this one-year business because for some strange reason I no longer have a copy of the contract I signed. Please show me the contract that I signed so that I can review it and then respond to what you're telling me. Thanks."

If the owner refuses to show it to you, well maybe that clause doesn't actually exist.

Catfishtattoo

Do they have grounds to sue?

If they have not trained me, or had anything to do with clientele, are they really entitled to my business as an indpenedent contractor?

single317dad