• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

Ownership of Intellectual Property designed by me

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

eeleigh

What is the name of your state (only U.S. law)? California

I am an electronic engineer who was approached a few months ago by an individual who first wanted an obsolete product design redesigned, then he approached me about a new and much larger project. I was supposed to receive a per unit royalty on the first small product, then was promised an agreement for ongoing compensation and stock ownership in his new company for the much larger product design. He asked me to write up a draft of what the agreement should cover which I did (and he agreed to the terms, etc. I set forth), and he was to forward that to his lawyer to be turned into a legitimate legal document. To date, I have over 550 hours of work in on the projects, but he has put nothing in writing or compensated me in any way, nor has he formed the new corporation which I was to own stock in. I have learned his lawyer has cut him off for non-payment, and the rest of his plans seem to be falling apart due to non-payment of bills and mismanagement in general. I have no interest in his trademarks or stealing his customers, etc. All I am wondering is if I still "own" the work I have done so far. It could be used for unrelated products. Any thoughts that anyone might have would be most welcome. Thanks Much!

quincy

What is the name of your state (only U.S. law)? California