• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

Private Contractor vs. Employee (Is this standard practice in a contract)

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

gjrevans

I am a Canadian Resident (Ontario) and small business owner and I am trying to figure out whether the following clause is a standard practice clause or whether this is out of the ordinary.

To provide some background, I am entering into a business relationship as an independent contractor to develop a mobile application for another small business. I have been warned that sometimes in business relationships such as this, the CRA will find individuals such as myself to actually be considered an employee of the company I have been contracted to work for instead of a private contractor or entity. When this happens the company contracting me for the period of time would then be hit with the obvious charges for not withholding taxes etc. The clause I am questioning essentially states that if I am determined to be an employee and not a private contract (which is not the case, but for argument sake we assume it happens), the firm I am being contracted by would not be held responsible for the fees but would instead pass them onto me and my company. I have communicated my confusion over this clause to the firm I am looking to engage with, however they have assured me that their legal team has been using this clause in standard practice for many years not and this it is in no way out of the ordinary.