• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

Unauthorized work

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

lilisa

What is the name of your state? MA

Thank you in advance for all who respond. This may be a bit long.

I am a landscape designer who has a few, hand selected self employed landscapers who do some or all of the installations on different projects I set up. In a broad sense, I sub-contract out the work and only write up "contracts" on larger jobs (usually over $5000) and the rest of the time, we just have an understanding and until now, this has not been an issue. We usually meet up to go over the plan, walk the property, and they give me a price. If I choose them, I meet with them again to go over details and give them a deposit prior to their start date (this is on the smaller jobs, everything is in writting otherwise and is not the issue here). This has been the way we work together since I opened my business and has been consistant as have been the men I deal with. Recently, I contacted "my" guys (3 different landscapers) and did this very same thing. Met with them, got a price, etc., HOWEVER, one of my guys didn't respond right away with a price and said he'd have to get back to me (this was a Friday) As of the following Sunday, I still hadn't heard from him so I called him and he gave me a price of more than twice what the others said. I told him to contact me the next day (Monday) for my decision and to set up for the deposit and all that, if he was hired. He never called me. I hadn't heard from him for a few days so on Thursday I called him and he "informed me" that he was FINISHING UP ON MY JOB and that he'd be by for payment. I hadn't even hired him! I even told him