• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

Verbal agreement liability

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

tejasherbie

What is the name of your state (only U.S. law)? Texas
I am a photographer , and had a verbal agreement to shoot a wedding for
$ 250 dollars , with $ 100 of the $ 250 paid the day of the wedding.
I asked the bride to send me an invitation , or an email to verify the time and date of the wedding. This did not happen. So a couple days before , the bride and I had a telephone conversation , and I asked then what time to be there. The bride responded , " the people will start to show up at 3 p.m.". So I said , " I need to be there an hour early so I can set up my equipment , so I will be there at 2 p.m. "
Well when I got there , the wedding actually STARTED at 3 p.m. and after a walk around with the Church lady , I was told two things, 1. Since I was not a member of thier religion , I could not walk up by the couple during the ceremony , with only getting far away shots from the side and back , as the "sanctuary" was not permitted to be used by non members. 2. I would need to get my gear packed up immediately afterward , as a religious mass would start , and I wasnt to be there after the wedding. As I was deliberating how I was going to get the shots from far away , I noticed a photographer with a professional looking camera rig , already shooting the groomsmen. As I left to go outside , another photographer , with the same kind of camera outfit , was shooting the bridesmaids , in the hall , and posing them professionally. I asked the church rep. about this and she stated " there will be more photographers today."