• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

Boarding school advice please?

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

mcbf95

I'm from Kansas, and I'm a 15 year old sophomore, soon to be 16. I'm looking to go attend the Kansas Academy of Mathematics and Science. It is an early-entry-to-college program. Basically I move to a college as a high school junior, and stay on campus the whole year like every other college kid would. I guess it could be considered a boarding school, my dad considers it that.

My parents are divorce with equal custody. A year and a half ago, my mother had custody over me.

My mother supports me in going to this academy, which I should mention is an honor; only 30 kids are selected from the state every year. My irrational father says that the only reason I want to go is that I don't like him, and therefore says he will NOT let me go. He does not listen to reason, and nobody can convince him of what reality is.

I was wondering, do I need his cooperation/signature/whatever to attend the academy? If I do, can I appeal to a judge because he won't allow me?

Just in case anybody was wondering, no, I'm not just a spoiled brat or whatever. Everybody who I've talked to about this (a great many people) agree that he is being completely irrational, and that the academy is a great honor to which I should attend.What is the name of your state (only U.S. law)?

Proserpina