• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

Child custody question for my sister

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

unhappysis

What is the name of your state (only U.S. law)? Pennsylvania

Hi this is my first time posting. I'm not really sure how to help my sister, so advice is greatly appreciated. Thank you in advance.

I recently came back into contact with my younger half sister(22). I haven't seen her since 4 years ago when she was 18 and became pregnant. At the time, her step mother had told me that she wanted my sister's child, to raise as her own. As a precaution, I sent my sister a letter telling her to move out with her child. I learned just recently that she never received the letter. Her step mother told her that her family was ashamed of her and wanted nothing to do with her. One day, the step mother locked my sister out of the house, and told her she wasn't welcome anymore. My poor sister was homeless, at 18, with no money and no one to turn to. She was taken in by a friend, and eventually worked her way back to normal life. She attempted to get her daughter back. The step mother threatened to call the cops saying that my sister would go to jail for child abandonment. Being uneducated in these things, my sister believed her and ran.