• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

child support pass the age of 18

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

C

charlene lupo

In tennessee if a child is in college does child support stop at the age of 18 or continues until 21?

C

charlene lupo

how do i know what the answer is? this is my first time

W

wayboro

Does the decree specify when support ends? Does it have any language in it about paying for college and/or continuing support during college? If not, it is my understanding that child support ends when the child turns 18 or graduates from HS, whichever is last to occur. If there is language in the decree that states you cannot just stop paying, or you are at all uncertain, you should check with an attorney or check through the court system where decree finalized. If there are other children still being supported, you probably have to get a change or modification order drawn up to REDUCE support for the remaining child/children. I would be very careful about just stopping support without being sure regardless of other children or not.
I am not an attorney, this is only an opinion based on some familiarity with Tenn c/s issues.
You should seek legal advice if decree unclear.
Hope that helps--let me know what you find out for sure.

Ambr

Are you paying or receiving the support?