• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

Divorce with kids

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

Emsly

Florida
I'm a new resident to Florida, we moved down here for my spouse residency. We had a verbal agreement that I could move back to Utah if I gave it couple more months to work things out. Well I want to leave the state and now that I want leave he is telling me I'm not going anywhere for 3 yrs until he is done. The state of Florida doesn't recognize you as a resident until after 6 months.. so does Florida has jurisdiction over cusdoty if Idaho is technically the kids home state? If I can get him to let me leave the state will there be a chance Florida can eventually order me to move back?

stealth2

Under the Radar Member
How long have you been in FL, and how do ID and/or UT come into the picture?

Last edited:

Silverplum

Florida
I'm a new resident to Florida, we moved down here for my spouse residency. We had a verbal agreement that I could move back to Utah if I gave it couple more months to work things out. Well I want to leave the state and now that I want leave he is telling me I'm not going anywhere for 3 yrs until he is done. The state of Florida doesn't recognize you as a resident until after 6 months.. so does Florida has jurisdiction over cusdoty if Idaho is technically the kids home state? If I can get him to let me leave the state will there be a chance Florida can eventually order me to move back?
You can move wherever you like, but taking the children with you is another matter.

Ohiogal

Queen Bee
Florida