• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

Getting full custody to move

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

dad2onekid

What is the name of your state (only U.S. law)? tn

I just finished school. I have a degree now, yet I'm still working in fast food because there are no jobs here. I'm looking at moving to another city or even state but I don't want to leave my kid. My ex has custody, I get weekends. What are my chances of pursuing full custody and winning? I've heard of change of circumstances and in this case, it would be that I have a degree and can't find a job here. I haven't asked my ex to move yet, but if she says no I won't have any choice but to try to get full custody. What are my chances?

Proserpina

I just finished school. I have a degree now, yet I'm still working in fast food because there are no jobs here. I'm looking at moving to another city or even state but I don't want to leave my kid. My ex has custody, I get weekends. What are my chances of pursuing full custody and winning? I've heard of change of circumstances and in this case, it would be that I have a degree and can't find a job here. I haven't asked my ex to move yet, but if she says no I won't have any choice but to try to get full custody. What are my chances?

Zero.

The court wants to see a change in the child's circumstances. You getting a degree doesn't fall into that category.

stealth2

Under the Radar Member

So why is this a reason to disrupt the child's life? Newsflash for you - it is NOT about *you*.

dad2onekid

I am current on child support now. I would think that a "coc" in my child's father's life would be a "coc" in my child's life.

stealth2

Under the Radar Member