• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

In military, child support question

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

F

fixious

What is the name of your state? Iowa

Im in the military and live in nebraska, girlfriend lives in Iowa which is where Im a resident. I found out last week she was pregnant. We plan to live together. She has one child who she does receive child support from? What advice could you provide. Does she have to initiate child support actions or are they automatically done?

C

craftymom

Confused.....
Why would you be paying support if you plan to live together?

F

fixious

RE

Trying to figure out the worst case i guess. I have every hope of doing this as a team but stability in this relationship hasn't been par. So the mother will have to initiate action if she wants child support?

CMSC

Okay first of all being in the military I have heard of people getting child support withheld directly from their pay so that when they are sued for support it shows that they have been paying.

Second, are you moving to Iowa or is she coming to Nebraska? If you stay in Nebraska that will be who has jurisdiction. As long as the NCP is in Nebraska they want jurisdiction.

Yes the mother will have to initiate action. Of course you could take her to court for custody/visitation and support can be settled there. What county are you in here in Nebraska?

F

fixious

RE

I live in Sarpy country in NE. She lives in IA. We don't know yet where we want to live whether I go there or she comes near here. Going to try this together, and hope everything works out.

CMSC