• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

Missing School Days

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

wileybunch

How far do you live from your kiddo? If it is not too inconvenient, or out of the way, perhaps you could take her to school in the mornings. That way you are assured that she is making it to school on time. I know it's not your responsibility, but this could help alleviate future headaches such as going before a truancy court....
Great suggestion. Maybe Mom "should" be doing this, but does everything have to turn into a legal battle?

sarismom

I am a teacher (in PA) and feel your best bet is to communicate with the school with no accusations since they brought it to your attention-Is this a concern of theirs? what is their process? were absences excused or unexcused? Here after the tenth day - ex or unex - the child must have a drs excuse after the 10th day or the school takes parents to the district justice. You don't want to be taken to court after the damage is done, but you also don't want to look like your looking for trouble-you would not believe how many dads we have NEVER seen before come in for attendance reports and then we never see them again-not saying you are one of those dads, just don't want to look like one. Also document/email mom about what was going on? Show some concern-maybe mom just needs some help or something is going on or maybe you do need to go in front of a judge-but find out first.