• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

Need help for a 15 year old girl.

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

Lasoldier

What is the name of your state? Texas

Hello I am a soldier that is stationed at Ft Hood Texas. My wife has a family friend that is going through some problems. She is 15 and at age 1 her mother signed over her rights to her mother and father, the grandma passed on in Oct of 04 and the grandpa passed this week. We would like for the child to come live with us so that she can have some normalcy in her life instead of geeting bounced around from family memeber to family memeber. No one wants her and since Oct she has been bounced to Kansas back to Texas and back to Kansas and now back in Texas. Thats 4 school changes with in a 6 month period, thats not healthy for anyone. Her biological father is still alive and living in Washington and wants nothing to do with her at all. Just wondering what type of actions if any can we take for saving this girl from a life that has no future, except to follow in her families footsteps of drugs and jail.

Also on a side note I not sure if this will help or not but before her grandpa died her told my wife that when he died that he would like to have her come live with us instead of being put back into the family. Now there are witnesses besides myself that were present at the time but I am not sure of the legality of verbal commitments in a case such as this.

I thank you very much for taking the time to read this and any help that you could provid would be GREATLY appreciated.

Thank you

Pfc John Clancy

djohnson