• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

Need to leave alcoholic spouse but kids are involved.

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

Haveyourway

What is the name of your state? New York

Hi everyone, this is my first time here and first post. I need some help. I am a mom of 3 wonderful kids, ranging in age from 8-2. My spouse and I have the 2 year old together, my other 2 are from a prev. marriage. I moved here to NY from the midwest b/c he (spouse) was so unhappy there and said he needed to come back to NY so we married and move here. All was fine w/ father of the kids. So now I am living here in NY for 1+ year, and my spouse has become a different man. He began having an "internet relationship" with one of my best friends back home, which I found out about, he was posting naked pics of himself online on a singles site, he has just recently hit me 2 times and tore up my personal items. He also has been treating the other kids (not his) horribely. I need to leave, the cops have been called, but they can't do anything unless I show up "battered" or this is what I was told. I want to go back home, home to my family, friends all my support! I am a stay at home mom now, and he does work. I need to know what I need to do to be able to leave this summer when my oldest is out of school. I know since we have a mutual child I have to file papers. I don't want to be stuck here b/c I came here, he was living w/ me in the midwest and we were married there, but he was so unhappy. I'm dissapointed in him and myself. Please help me know what next steps are and what I need to do to help me and my children. by the way, he is a pretty good father to our baby, he drinks alot and can't be around