• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

Non-custodial parent may be using drugs

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

hiswife22

What is the name of your state (only U.S. law)? Oregon

I am the step-mother of 2 minor children. I have been raising them for the past 2 years with my husband. My husband was just told that the non-custodial parent is abusing drugs. She gets weekly visitation with the children. My husband and I are worried about the safety of the children if she is in fact using drugs. She has in the past so this does not come as a shock. I am not trying to knock her as I do not know her personally, I know what I have observed and have been told by others.

The question is whether my husband has the legal right to refuse to let her take the children, or does he have to contact the court? Can he ask that she take a drug test prior to picking them up?

Any advice is appreciated. Thanks.

Proserpina

What is the name of your state (only U.S. law)? Oregon

I am the step-mother of 2 minor children. I have been raising them for the past 2 years with my husband. My husband was just told that the non-custodial parent is abusing drugs. She gets weekly visitation with the children. My husband and I are worried about the safety of the children if she is in fact using drugs. She has in the past so this does not come as a shock. I am not trying to knock her as I do not know her personally, I know what I have observed and have been told by others.

The question is whether my husband has the legal right to refuse to let her take the children, or does he have to contact the court? Can he ask that she take a drug test prior to picking them up?

Any advice is appreciated. Thanks.