• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

Parental kidnapping and parental rights

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

january00

What is the name of your state (only U.S. law)? Kansas -

I'm a Newbie so be patient. I'll try to keep this brief.

My ex and I were never married, but we have a daughter born in 2002 in Kansas. I did sign the declaration of paternity at the hospital, and I am on the birth certificate. We have never had child support/custody in place, it has always been by mutual agreement.

In February 2006 she took a job relocation to Canada. I agreed to let my daughter go since my Ex told me it was only for 2 years. I go with my Ex to apply for a passport for our daughter. In May 2006, I relocated from Kansas to Texas for a job relocation of my current spouse. In the beginning, the communication and visitation continued with my Ex and my daugher. My Ex had even arragend to meet me in in Oklahoma in the summer of 2006 when she returned to the U.S. to visit her parents. I last saw my daughter at Christmas 2006 when visiting Kansas over the holidays. Since then, the communication gradually became less and less. My Ex stopped answering my calls, she moved to a new residence in Montreal, she screens her calls at work, she changed her cell phone number. I assume she has extended her employment in Montreal, but it has gotten to the point that I don't even know how or where to contact my Ex or my daughter.

I am completely confused about why my Ex has done this. We have no violent past, no abuse, I have no criminal history, there were no arguments. She just disappeared.