• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

Reason for a change in custody?

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

CAMomto1

What is the name of your state (only U.S. law)? CA

Hello,

I currently share joint physical and legal custody of my two and a half year old daughter with her father. The father and I were never married, but were in a 6 year relationship before we split up. We went to court, established custody, visitation and child support. He hasn't really missed any days of visitation and hasn't missed any child support payments.

Dad gets our daughter on his days off from work, and I have her the rest of the time. I work as a nurse and just finished my second masters degree as a NICU nurse. I am currently employed at a local hospital, but there isn't much room for advancement.

I was recently engaged and my fiance (who lives in another state) has put in for a job relocation so he can move to CA. He works for a government agency, and there is a location about 2 hours from here. There are also several other hospitals in that area that would allow me to advance my career in the future. I have started looking at houses in that area, and have also applied for a couple of positions in the area hospitals.

Here's my question...