• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

Sign over parental rights?

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

mrk

What is the name of your state (only U.S. law)? Florida.

Newbie here... I have three children by an ex girlfriend. All live with thier mothers Aunt. I am on child support and the mother is as well. The children are very well cared for and loved. The Aunt has no problems with me or the mother visiting with the children and I am even allowed to take them overnight if I so chose.

My problem/question is this...... I was given a large amount of back support to pay from the first day I was placed on support. The aunt did not take me to court for the support. The state did. I have always given money to the aunt directly but the state decided it wanted me on OFFICIAL SUPPORT. I would like to know if I signed over my parental rights to the children if this would alleviate me of support. The aunt would never keep the kids from me and they are so happy and content where they are at. I would never even consider taking them from her. The mother can't have custody of them for reasons not worth mentioning here.

So again the question is: Would signing over my parental rights allow me to stop child support payments?

I understand I will probably be responsible for at least some of the arrears. But I want the current payments to stop and the aunt is fine with this as I have always paid her directly before the state got involved.What is the name of your state (only U.S. law)?

Signing over your parental rights would stop any future payments, but you are still responsible for your arrears. Sorry.