• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

Texas Custody

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

DallasHockey

I am a Texas resident and currently six months pregnant. The father is in Colorado. I have quite a few reasons for wanting custody with him only having supervised visitation. He has a recent past conviction in domestic violence and I have proof of a suicide threat. The reason I am writing for help, is that I need to know the chances of him gaining 50/50 custody or even primary custody. He has not offered any support financially or emotionally the entire pregnancy and continues to not look in that direction.
Furthermore, I am interested in knowing the legal process of moving out of country. If I have primary custody, what if anything can be done to stop the move?

Also, would mediation be best or should I just go all out with legal proceedings?

Proserpina

I am a Texas resident and currently six months pregnant. The father is in Colorado. I have quite a few reasons for wanting custody with him only having supervised visitation. He has a recent past conviction in domestic violence and I have proof of a suicide threat. The reason I am writing for help, is that I need to know the chances of him gaining 50/50 custody or even primary custody. He has not offered any support financially or emotionally the entire pregnancy and continues to not look in that direction.
Furthermore, I am interested in knowing the legal process of moving out of country. If I have primary custody, what if anything can be done to stop the move?

Also, would mediation be best or should I just go all out with legal proceedings?

Was the DV conviction against you?