• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

Transportation to and from custodial visits

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

troubledstepmom

What is the name of your state? TN

My husband has a child from a previous marriage. The mother of the child has full custody, and the father (my husband) has visitation. I (stepmom) transport the child to and from visits most of the time due to my husband's schedule. I have been doing so for 4 years without incident. About a month ago, the mother and I had words in a public parking lot. There was no one else present. I assure you this was only words. There was no yelling, no screaming, no cursing, no threats, no physical contact whatsoever. After the custodial visit immediately following this incident, I took the child home. She came out of the house and to my vehicle and proceeded to start an argument in front of her child and my 19 month old son. I never got out of the car. I politely asked her to please close my car door so that I could leave. The child later called me in tears because his mother had screamed at him for 2 hours claiming he needed to show her some loyalty. On the next visit, I was with my husband when he picked up the child, and the child told us that his mother went ballistic because I was in the car. She told the child she would have me arrested for tresspassing and get a restraining order against me. Can she do this ?? She also told the child "she was going to get a shotgun and shoot me if I ever returned to pick up or drop off the child. Does the mother have any say so about who picks up and drops of the child for custodial visits ? The child and I are pretty close and he is extremely uspet about this situation.