• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

Unwed Mother - Can I move to another state?

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

Humusluvr

What is the name of your state? Texas

Hello All!

I am quite excited to find this forum! I have a lot of questions about my situation, but will attempt to ask them one at a time. Thanks to all who respond.

I am a 30 year old professional woman who is 4 1/2 months pregnant by my long term boyfriend of 2 years. We did not plan the pregnancy, and it is extremely risky as I have health complications.

I live in an extremely small town on the Mexican border - not a place I want to raise a child. My family is in Ohio, his family is scattered about Texas (and not really a great family at that). Once the baby is born, I want to move to Ohio to be near my family. They are extremely stable and loving, and would be wonderful in helping raise the child. I would also be able to get better health care for myself and the child, go to church, and have educational opportunities for the child.

The father is 28 years old, employed but works 80 hours a week, and has a child from another relationship who lives in Texas, but he does not get to regularly see. The mother of the other child routinely interferes with visitation and is verbally abusive. He is current on child support, but basically his child is dangled over his head.

Can I move to Ohio once the baby is born? Can I move with or without him? Can he put up a fight to keep me here if we were never married?

Can he move to Ohio with me if we choose to marry? What about his child in Texas?