• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

What are my rights with Children & Youth

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

Robinette

What is the name of your state (only U.S. law)? PA

Long story short.
1) I have been raising my 5 year old grand-daughter since June 2010.
2) She was removed from my daughter by Children and Youth because of drug abuse and neglect.
3) My grand-daughter's father is prison.
4) I had my grand-daughter before for a year.
5) There are sibling twin 3 year old brothers. Both are autistic and in the care of an aunt and uncle.
6) I have guardianship.
7) Children and Youth contacted me this week and told me I had to apply for Kinship because the aunt and uncle are filing for Kinship for my grandsons.
8) I do not want to be a Foster Home.
9) I do not want the state to have custody of my grand-daughter even though I would have physical custody.
10) My daughter and the father of my grand-daughter are willing to give me legal custody.

The question I have is this:
Does children and youth have the right to force me in to foster care status to care for my grandchild? Can't I simply have the parents give me custody?What is the name of your state (only U.S. law)?

CourtClerk

No, they don't have the right to force you into kinship care.

Their other option is to remove the child from your care and place her into foster care.

And no, you can't have your daughter and her ex boyfriend give you custody, because right now, the children are wards of the state, and THEY have the say as to what happens to the children. If I were you, I wouldn't get into a pissing contest with CYS, you'll lose every time.

LdiJ

Long story short.