• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

When can child decide whether to visit

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

O

onehappywmn

What is the name of your state? NC

Hi! I am new to this so I hope i am doing this right. I was wondering if anyone knows if there is an age that a child can say they don't want to go and visit the non-custodial parent. my daughter is 11 now and her dad lives in FL and she really doesn't want to go see him. I was just wondering if she got to make that decision or since it's court ordered visitation she has to go no matter what.

thanks for any help

JaneyS4

I believe if its court ordered, she pretty much has to go. If you don't make her, YOU are in contempt of court.

H

huskerfan41

You would need to have a court ordering modifying custody/parenting time.

at 11 years old the court would probably listen to her --

however, if you want my two cents -- i would encourage her to see her father.

just because the two of you are divorced -- it is a shame that she cannot be close to her father as well.

maybe she has another man in her life that acts like her father...

but, it isn't the same and she is missing out on all the joys of life by not having her biological father in her life.

P

pthalo