• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

1099 self employed wage garnishment laws?

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

tim4romamfs

What is the name of your state (only U.S. law)? I live in CA, I am a 1099 Independent Contractor for a said company. Child Support Agency has recently attached a wage assignment to the money this said company owes me. Are they allowed to do this? I have a few friends that are CPA's and they seem to be under the impression that Child Support can't do this due to my 1099 self employed status and the fact that these are not "wages". In other words I am NOT technically employed by this company. I am self employed. Plus I have not filed taxes on this money yet, so how could CSS take a percentage of my money prior to me filing taxes and calculating business expenses ect? Is this legal? Do I have any rights to stop them from doing this? I have no problem paying child support, but I would like to do this on my own, without them making things more complicated and confusing by taking my 1099 money before I have calculated taxes and business expenses.

Tooderbug

It is possible they imputed income from previous years and garnished your income according to what you should owe from past monies.

TinkerBelleLuvr

toodled-ooo ... read the question.

They are garnishing his contractor payments. The answer is THAT IS LEGAL. They can garnish up to 50%-65% of those payments.

nextwife

toodled-ooo ... read the question.

They are garnishing his contractor payments. The answer is THAT IS LEGAL. They can garnish up to 50%-65% of those payments.